It Will Just Be Us

November 1, 2020
It Will Just Be Us

A terrifying new gothic horror novel about two sisters and ahaunted house that never sleeps, perfect for fans of ShirleyJackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle.They say there's a door in Wakefield that never opens...Sam Wakefield's ancestral home, a decaying mansion built on theedge of a swamp, isn't a place for children. Its labyrinthinehalls, built by her mad ancestors, are filled with echoes of thepast: ghosts and memories knotted together as one. In the presenceof phantoms, it's all Sam can do to disentangle past from presentin her daily life.But when her pregnant sister Elizabeth moves in after a fightwith her husband, something in the house shifts. Already navigatingher tumultuous relationship with Elizabeth, Sam is even moreunsettled by the appearance of a new ghost: a faceless boy whocommits disturbing acts--threatening animals, terrorizing otherchildren, and following Sam into the depths of the house wielding aknife. When it becomes clear the boy is connected to a locked,forgotten room, one which is never entered, Sam realizes this ghostis not like the others. This boy brings doom...As Elizabeth's due date approaches, Sam must unravel themysteries of Wakefield before her sister brings new life into ahouse marked by death. But as the faceless boy grows stronger, Samwill learn that some doors should stay closed--and some secrets aresafer locked away forever.