A Good Kind of Trouble

November 1, 2020
A Good Kind of Trouble

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny andbig-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, andstanding up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’sThe Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and JasonReynolds.Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants todo is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she’d also like to make itthrough seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn torun track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.)But in junior high, it’s like all the rules have changed. Nowshe’s suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some peopleat school are saying she’s not black enough. Wait, what?Shay’s sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shaydoesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerfulprotest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. Shestarts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Livesmovement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given anultimatum.Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to dothe right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll beforever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that’s trouble, forreal.Lisa Moore Ramée was born and raised in Los Angeles and she nowlives in the Bay Area of California, with her husband, two kids,and two obnoxious cats. A Good Kind of Trouble is her firstnovel.