Loathe at First Sight: A Novel

November 1, 2020
Loathe at First Sight: A Novel

“Bursts with humor, heart, and great energy. I loved it! Park isa hilarious new voice in women’s fiction.”—Helen Hoang, author ofThe Kiss Quotient“[A] punchy adult debut set in the world of video game design.Park makes tough topics go down easy by couching them in wry humorand lighthearted romance, and her fierce, snarky heroine isirresistible. This smart rom-com is a winner.”—Publishers Weekly(starred review)In a debut perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and SallyThorne, a junior video game producer finds herself getting closerand closer to the one person she hates most after a mass trollattack online almost ruins her life.Melody Joo is thrilled to land her dream job as a video gameproducer, but her new position comes with challenges: aninsufferable CEO; sexist male coworkers; and an infuriating—yetdistractingly handsome—intern, Nolan MacKenzie, aka “the guy whogot hired because his uncle is the boss.”Just when Melody thinks she’s made the worst career move of herlife, her luck changes. While joking with a friend, she creates amobile game that has male strippers fighting for survival in apost-apocalyptic world. Suddenly Melody’s “joke” is her studio’smost high-profile project—and Melody’s running the show.When Nolan is assigned to Melody’s team, she’s sure he’ll beuseless. But as they grow closer, she realizes he’s smart and sexy,which makes Melody want to forget he’s her intern. As theirattraction deepens, she knows it’s time to pump the brakes, evenwith her Korean parents breathing down her neck to hurry up andfind a man.With her project about to launch, Melody suddenly faces a slewof complications, including a devastating trolling scandal. Couldthe man she’s falling hard for help her play the game to win—inwork and in love?